# **News Release**



Iowa Association of School Boards® 6000 Grand Ave., Ste. A, Des Moines, IA 50312 Contact: Jen Woodley, jwoodley@ia-sb.org, 515-247-7040

# IASB Welcomes Newly Elected and Reelected Board Members and Honors Outgoing Leaders

Des Moines, Iowa – The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) is pleased to announce the results of its recent board elections and appointments. The IASB Board is the governing body that ensures the association's mission of advancing public education and supporting Iowa school boards is fulfilled.

#### **Re-elected Board Members:**

- Sheri Penney, Osage Community Schools (Director District #3)
- Chad Crabb, Southeast Polk Community Schools (Director District #5)
- Jared McDonald, Winterset Community Schools (Director District #8)
- Christie Kessel, Fairfield Community Schools (Director District #9)

## Newly Elected Board Members:

- Randy Bauer, College Community Schools (Director District #6) term begins January 2025
- Kristen Jensen, Nodaway Valley Community Schools (Director District #7) term begins January 2025

## Newly Appointed Representative:

• **Tricia Sutherland** serves on the Western Iowa Tech Community College Board and has been appointed Iowa Association of Community College Trustees (IACCT) Representative.

IASB extends its heartfelt gratitude to **Roger Shaffer**, **Laura McLean**, and **Alan Jensen**, who will complete their terms in January 2025.

• **Roger Shaffer** of Sumner has served as a director for two years and as IASB treasurer for 13 years, providing steadfast financial oversight.

- Laura McLean of Atlantic Community School Board has represented southwest lowa for two years, championing public education with dedication.
- Alan Jensen, representing Kirkwood Community College, has served with distinction for seven years as the voice of IACCT on the IASB board.

Additionally, the IASB board will transition its leadership as **Elizabeth Brennan**, a Heartland AEA board member, becomes past president, and **Jesse Howard**, a trustee from Southeastern Community College, assumes the role of president. **Frank Wood**, a board member from North Scott, will serve as president-elect. **Jim Green**, a Grant Wood AEA board member, will fulfill the role of Treasurer.

IASB celebrates these transitions and looks forward to continued growth and progress under the guidance of its dedicated board.

Learn more about the IASB Board of Directors here.